ETG started life back in 1999 under the auspices of ACBE and CBI with just 30 ‘founder-members’ as an informal body, put together to prepare and submit outline proposals to the UK Government as the basis for the pioneering 5-year voluntary UK Greenhouse Gas Emissions Trading Scheme that began in April 2002. We have been working closely with the UK Government on emissions trading implementation issues ever since.

During 2004 the Membership of the ETG agreed to establish the ETG as a non profit-making company (ETG Ltd) to be funded substantially from Member subscription. As emissions trading moved from being on a trial basis to an established fact of commercial life, the ETG acquired a secure operational and financial base from which to continue to support the considerable UK business involvement, expertise and investment in emissions trading and related issues.


The ETG Secretariat is responsible for the day-to-day administration of the Group’s affairs, including arrangements for the various Working Group meetings and co-ordination of ETG’s work programme.

Head of Secretariat

John Craven
[email protected]
T: 020 7484 5274

Secretariat Executive

Anne-Marie Ferguson
[email protected]
T: 020 7484 5274



The affairs of ETG are managed by the ETG Board which meets three times a year for review purposes. Directors are required to seek re-election – in rotation every two years – at the AGM which is normally held in May. The current elected members are as follows. Their organisational affiliation is shown in brackets for information. However, all Directors are appointed in a personal capacity. The elected members are:

Chairman – Will Webster (Centrica)


Frank Aaskov (UK Steel) – Trade Association member
Tom Bainbridge (Lux Nova Partners)
Dr Diana Casey (Mineral Products Association)
Matthew Croucher (Society of Motor Manufacturers and Traders) – Trade Association member
Paul Dawson (RWE npower)                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        Dr Andrew McDermott (British Ceramic Confederation) – Trade Association member
Daniel Radov (BP)
Richard Woolley (Chemical Industries Association)

Working Group structure

The ETG operates through two main Working Groups
(WGs), as follows:

ETS/Net Zero WG – Chairs:  Dr Diana Casey (ETS Policy), Andy Taylor (Monitoring, Reporting and Verification), Dr Andrew McDermott (carbon leakage mitigation options)

Non-ETS measures WG – (Chair, vacant)

These are supported by sub-groups that meet when necessary